Jack
MegaSquirt Newbie

1980 Triumph TR8, stock 3.5 liter V8 w/Rover SD1 intake

Post by Jack »

Name: Jack Brooks
Vehicle: 1980 Triumph TR8
Engine: 3.5 liter RV8
Injection: Port Injection using mid-80's SD1 three piece manifold
Description: Fuel only MS conversion of a Carbed TR8. Spark to follow.

I've been meaning to post this build record for a while. Now that I finally have the engine running, it's almost too late, but it's written and informative, so here it is. My life and times with my first MS'd vehicle.

I've been working on the MS conversion for over two years (ouch!) and am finally getting close. Unfortunately, it's being done concurrently with a full suspension rebuild (new springs, shocks, struts, strut bearings and urethane bushings essentially everywhere), repair of rusty floors and the installation of a sound system and an AutoPower Race Roll Bar. Add on two young kids, winters full of Ski Patrolling, I'm an weekend warrior Assistant Patrol Director, and all the honey-do stuff and project time sure stretches out. Fortunately, my other Triumph, the TR3, is a solid driver, so we have an fun LBC to drive. I'm just getting really tired of seeing the TR8 sitting on jack stands week after week. I've done major work on the TR3 and always managed to get it done over a winter, so it was ready for summer driving each year. I hope that posting here will be motivational and I will help me get the TR8 back on the road soon.

Status: The MS 1, relay board and wiring harness are complete and have been ready for a year, although I do want to upgrade to SnS software, as I want to control ignition via a crank trigger later on, but want to be able to use 12x12 tables and Autotune now. The entire injection system, MS, high pressure fuel pump and intake, have been bench tested using the mineral spirits (turpentine) as a working fluid and everything seemed to work just fine.